IDS celebrates 61st graduation ceremony

On a bright, sunny morning on Friday, June 10, The Independent Day School celebrated its 61st graduation in its school history.

Honoring and recognizing the Class of 2022, the ceremony was held outside on the school’s sprawling campus with family, teachers, younger students, and administrators.

After hearing opening remarks and welcomes from Head of School Dr. Marijke Kehrhahn and President of the Board of Trustees Stacy Meisner, students addressed the crowd.

Alexandros Antonopoulos and Kat Reeves were selected for this year’s honor, and both students reflected on their joyful memories of their years at the school and of the lessons they learned that they will carry with them.

Each student was then called up to receive their diploma and, as is tradition, a faculty member gave a speech about each graduate. The words shared by the teachers truly highlighted the deep connection and impact each student had, not only on their grade, but on the entire school community.

After each student was called upon, the graduates gathered to sing the school song, A Special Place, one last time.

The Class of 2022 will always be remembered for the way the students handled their middle school years throughout the pandemic.

These students were flexible, resilient, grateful, strong-willed. We were incredibly fortunate to have them as leaders this past year, and we wish them all the best in their future endeavors.

Graduation awards

Head of School Award: Amber Michael. For exemplifying effort, loyalty and service to the school, and recognizing a student whose contributions make IDS a better place.

Scholar-Athlete Award: Sarah Roberts. For excellence and motivation in academics and athletics.

Granger Poetry Prize: Matea Lebron. Honoring the family of Frank Granger, a former trustee, for excellence in writing poetry.

Johnson Drama Award:
Natalia Levesque. For the student whose work in theatre arts class, as well as in their overall school performance, demonstrates dedication, enthusiasm and creativity.

Sylvina Chapman Norton Award in English: Aviv Teva. For recognition of excellence in English.

History Award: Alexandros Antonopoulos. For consistent academic effort and genuine love of history.

Design Thinking/Maker Lab Award: Aviv Teva. For excellence in all aspects of creative design including brainstorming, prototyping, building and teamwork.

Instrumental Music Award: Rowen Meisner. For a love of music, expertise on a musical instrument and leadership in an ensemble.

Spanish Award: Alexandros Antonopoulos. For special effort in, and enthusiasm for, Spanish.

Digital Arts & Science Award: Aria Teva. For
excellence in creativity, innovation and design technology.

Vocal Music Award: Ellie Pata. For a love of music, expertise in signing and leadership in an ensemble.

Math Award: Sarah Roberts. For outstanding effort, growth and enthusiasm for making mathematical connections.

Art Award: Ellie Pata. For continuing interest and skillful and imaginative work in art.

Press Release


More From This Section